Fruit Poop Freezer Goal

Since I always run out time in the summer to process everything, some of my fruit ends up in my freezer to be processed at a later date.  I often have the time to partially prep the fruit before it goes in the freezer.  For me, partially prepped means that I have at the very least run the fruit through my food mill.

I end up with what looks like apple sauce no matter what the fruit is.  I call it my fruit poop.  Yah, not a nice name but I know it means no seeds or skin.  Often with things like strawberries, I also push the berries through a jelly bag so I still have the pulp but not the seeds.  I then put the fruit poop in either bags or tubs in my freezer to be turned into either jam/fruit spread or fruit leather.

This week I have started with the peaches that I froze this summer, turning them into peach leather.  When finished, I will have two 1.9 litre jars of leather.  Next will be using the blackberry apple mix that I have in the freezer.  Some will be fruit spread, the rest leather.

I haven’t been able to reach the bottom of my freezer for a while now but I think I also have a few tubs of yellow plum, cranberries and strawberries.  My goal is to have all of the fruit poop in the freezer turned into leather or fruit spread by the end of the month.  Wish me luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

