Cinnamon Sugar Tortilla Chips and Chilaquiles

I was trying to come up with something last night that was a little sweet, quick to make and with ingredients that I had on hand.  Then I remembered watching a cooking show with mom on making cinnamon sugar tortilla chips.  Nope, I did not look for a recipe I just did it on what little I remembered from the show.  I could not remember the oven temperature nor the length of time so I just sat and watched them bake.  What I did was just a bit different from the video below.  I used extra virgin olive oil with a pastry brush (both sides) & just sprinkled the cinnamon sugar on top.

I liked it so well that I made a second batch using powdered spaghetti sauce with Parmesan cheese.  Of course then I began to wonder if this is what Doritos are 🙂

Doritos /dɵˈriːtoʊz/ (literally, from Mexican Spanish doradito : “turned golden or crisp”) is a brand of seasoned tortilla chips produced since 1964 by American food company Frito-Lay (a wholly owned subsidiary of PepsiCo, Inc.).    

The original produce was made at the Casa de Fritos at Disneyland in California.  Using surplus tortillas, the company owned restaurant cut them up and fried them as in traditional Mexican chips called totopos and added basic seasoning, resembling the Mexican Chilaquiles, but in this case being dry.

To try next but not for breakfasy

Leave a Reply

