“Frogging” old WIP

Frogging means to rip out stitches. If you say rip out several times very quickly is sounds like a frog song – ribbit, ribbit, ribbit.

As part of getting projects done before starting new ones, I went looking for all of the knitting and crochet projects that I have started. Then as I found each one, I reviewed the piece with the following in mind:

  • do I still liked what I was doing
  • if I like it, do I still have or can I find the yarn in the house to finish it
  • if I don’t have the yarn and I like it, it goes in the “to review again” pile
  • if I like it, can find the yarn then it goes into the to finish pile
  • if I don’t like what I was doing, was it the colour or the pattern or the size
  • if it was the colour, can I add to what I have already done – if no, it gets frogged
  • if I don’t like the size, can I add to what I have already done – if no, it gets frogged
  • if I don’t like the pattern  – it gets frogged

Based on the above, I have frogged 2 afghans and 1 scarf this week.  I have 2 other afghans that are in the to frog pile and 1 afghan to finish.

  1. I didn’t have the colours to finish afghan “A”.  I know the one colour is no longer available.   The balls of yarn went in one of my yarn baskets to be used sooner rather then later.
  2. Afghan “B”, I have no clue what I was thinking with it.  My best guess was that it was going to be a “lap-gan”, a small blanket to be used in an office to keep my legs warm under my desk.  I used most of the yarn for it already & used it for a scarf.
  3. Afghan “C” I am still working on frogging it.  It was done except for the edging.  I think the total size was 12 feet by 8 feet.  It was for a king sized bed with “extra” to hang down the sides. I have spent about an hour frogging it so far.  I don’t like the pattern and it was less the perfect in my crocheting.  The yarn will go into a clear plastic bag to go in my yarn large project blanket box.
  4. Afghan “D” I don’t like really anything about it.  When I get to frogging it, the yarn will go into one of my baskets.  I will have to re-think the colours and pattern.
  5. Afghan “E” was one I started over a year ago as a Christmas present and forgot all about.  It will be the next thing I finish. (hopefully lol)
Leave a Reply

