Finding Balance

There is a fine line between prepping and hoarding.  Since my mom’s passing, I have taken a long look at what I own.  I have to admit for the first few months of getting disability I went over board in my spending.  Buying food, clothes, supplies, etc that I had no been able to purchase in the previous 14 months.  The last spending spree that I had was boxing day buying yarn.  I bought enough to last more then a year.

Since then, I have taken a good hard look at my “stuff”.  I have been making a point since then at looking at everything I have.  Asking myself –  “when I am gone will someone else want it, use it, need it” plus the food side of things “what is the expiry date”.

I have been slowly changing my eating habits to use up those food items that are close to expiry.  I am no longer allowing myself to purchase any food items until I have gone through my food stores.  It has made some very interesting meals and not the healthiest.  One of the things that I discovered was that popcorn tastes like crap after it has been stored for over a year.  It was stored in vacuum sealed jars with O2 absorbers so it was a surprise to me.

It has been very hard for me to pass up really good food sales when I know the price of things are just going to keep going up.  Each time I see a sale, I have to remind myself over & over that I “don’t have to have it, I can do without”.  I don’t know about others but I find when I purchase fresh / new food, I have a really bad habit of eating it first.  I believe the only way for me to work through the dates is to not purchase anything.

I am hoping that the battle that goes on in my head will get easier.

2 thoughts on “Finding Balance

  1. I do understand but might I offer a idea for balance, when preparing that meal from storage, do consider allowing yourself 1 fresh item per meal or one 1 fresh item on the biggest or smallest meal of the day or 1 fresh item once a day for snack and so forth.

    while I might do 90 percent of my food from storage in winter, I still get fresh treats.. (normally for me its onions, I like to always have fresh onions)

Leave a Reply

